The Mobility Field Day 10 Woozy Flight Blog

Off I went to San Jose for the Mobility Field Day 10 event, starting with the trip to the airport. I had an excellent Uber driver, and it was around 35 degrees and sunny. Security was easy and the TSA did not cavity-check me. Good start, good start…

I boarded my Southwest flight- the first time I used them and fast learned their unique boarding method. I landed in my preferred aisle seat. I cranked up my library of tunes, donned my headset, and dozed in and out of sleep a bit. My musical tastes are far-ranging, and I found myself thinking about the wireless industry, past Field Day events, and all kinds of weird stuff while groove-snoozing…

8 Miles High- by Golden Earring– Gonna need more than just a standard internal antenna at that height.

Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald- Gordon Lightfoot. Meru Networks at Wireless Field Day 5. Broke deep and took water. Wasn’t pretty.

Not Now John- Pink Floyd- “oy- where’s the fucking bar, John?” Indeed. It’s in San Jose, waiting.

JoJo- Boz Scaggs- Boz is always classy, edgy, slick. Just like Tom Hollingsworth.

Working for the Fat Man- Escape Club- not sure here exactly… CEOs getting rich off of insane licensing costs on network hardware? Something along those lines…

Who Do You Love- Escape Club- “where are the good guys, where are they now now now?” Jake, Bender, Ryan, Andrew… folks I have enjoyed talking with that I haven’t seen in a while out in Industryland. Good people.

Extreme Ways- Moby- Used to be “Enterasys Ways”. Run and tell THAT.

Come Undone- Robbie Williams- me dealing with code bugs. Same with Waylon Jennings Man of Constant Sorrows.

Laughing- The Guess Who- vendors sales folk when you protest the new “license everything” paradigm.

It goes on and on. The Killers, Mellencamp, Lou Reed, The Cult, Toney Carey, Chumbawumba, Joanie Mitchell, and many more. All songs intertwined with random thoughts related to the coming trip.

Then I landed in Denver, and caught up with an old friend for the last leg of the trip. No tunes there, but lots of good conversation.

Tell me what YOU think.