A Cheap Wireless and Solar Camera Proves Itself

You gotta love it when things just work- especially things like cameras that you rely on to help safeguard your property in this unfortunate age of what’s yours I want and so I will take. I really wasn’t expecting a lot when I took a chance a few years ago on a brand called Zumimall I somewhat randomly picked off of Amazon, but fast forward to today and I got praises to sing.

Zumimall solar-powered wireless camera standing guard at Wirednot HQ

Here’s what I bought- and I bought two:

The price does vary on this… like in $50-$75 range

Yeah, yeah… “But Lee, it only does 2.4 GHz!” It’s also just a 802.11n geezer device, but you just shush up about THAT. Where I use this camera, it’s old-school specs are just fine. And where exactly am I using it? Well, I first bought these to augment my Ubiquiti Protect system when I lived in upstate New York. I needed a camera I could put way up on my roof-mounted ham radio antenna mast to show how much snow I had on the roof in winter (we got a LOT up there) and to also cover parts of the yard and driveway. The other one was out in the backyard.

Did I mention these are SOLAR powered? Despite gloomy New York winters? That little solar panel has done a fantastic job of keeping the internal battery charged, I’m going into the third year with the Zumimalls, and they just don’t run out of juice regardless of weather.

We have since moved to Indiana, and the heat here can be intense. The bodies of the cameras are yellowing, but they continue to work wonderfully.

The latest version of the camera claims to have greatly improved resolution and clarity at 2K 3MP. My older units are adequate but not stellar, but were also bought more for their solar/Wi-Fi capabilities.

As you can imagine, I have pretty stellar Wi-Fi at the Wirednot Compound. My daughter here in Indiana and a son in Seattle do NOT have stellar wireless where there own Zumimalls are located, but the cameras do well even on weak signal.

Cloud storage is a paid option, but I have found the MicroSD card option to be just fine. Motion detection is surprisingly good, as are pretty much everything else you’d want to play with in a camera- especially at the low pice. I use the companion app on iOS and Android, and it works very well on both.

From the wireless network side, here‘s one glimpse- nothing special, but again it just works:

I wish Ubiquiti had a comparable option with solar and wireless- Zumimall has shown that it can be viable, and reliable. These aren’t enterprise-grade cameras, but for home and small business you simply can’t go wrong. And the solar power aspect is absolutely empowering. Get it here.

I have had these cameras connected to wireless networks using access points from a number of vendors including Aruba, Meraki, Mist, Ruckus, and Ubiquiti and they simply connect and go in each case.

________

Speaking of Indiana… there’s this.

2 thoughts on “A Cheap Wireless and Solar Camera Proves Itself

  1. Randy K.Gunn

    “I’m pleasantly surprised by how well this cheap wireless and solar camera performs! It just goes to show that effective security doesn’t have to break the bank. This article highlights the importance of budget-friendly options that still deliver on functionality. Thanks for shedding light on this affordable gem!”

    Reply
  2. aipsau

    This is a wonderful guide on the security camera system, despite its dated features, was ideal for my purposes. During the severe winters, I erected one on the mast of my ham radio antenna to keep an eye on the snowfall. The additional camera was put in the backyard for maximum coverage. Because it is solar-powered and wireless, it eliminates the need for regular battery replacement and complicated wiring. Zumimall has won me over, and I now recommend it without reservation to anyone looking for a reliable and reasonably priced surveillance system.
    Aips.com.au/security-services

    Reply

Tell me what YOU think.