Those “Other” Wireless Tools: Access Agility, Wolf WiFi, and Rat River Technologies

In the realm of Wireless Tools, there’s a bit of a bulls-eye effect. We all have our own versions of that bulls-eye, and my own has Fluke Networks/AirMagnet, Ekahau, and Metageek in the dead center. These are the tools I use most often for various functions, and I see my own value in each of them. I’ve also bought them.

My next ring features the likes of TamoSoft and ColaSoft, These are also nice tools, but they haven’t made it to my own inner ring. I use them and appreciate them when free copies come my way, and perhaps if my own Big 3 wasn’t already payed for, I’d invest in these other tools. 

Now, at the inaugural Wireless LAN Pro Summit I find myself contemplating another ring in my bulls-eye. I have just requested my eval copies of tools from Access Agility and Rat River Technologies, and am soon to try Wolf WiFi Pro. Because I’m just getting started with these, I can’t vouch for their values to me. But what I can say is that this trio is interesting because they largely run on mobile devices- the very devices that are exploding and becoming a huge part (and frequently the most resource constrained) part of our client bases. To see the WLAN world through their eyes will certainly be interesting, and I look forward to using them.

As I give each the once over, I have to say that for me, the RF Toolbox app from Rat River jumps out as the most immediately interesting. I only have a around a dozen point-to-point bridges in my wireless world, but I also do enough with Amateur Radio and other hobby-oriented RF that I can see enjoying this utility in a number of directions.

How about you, the reader of this post? Do you use or have you tried any of this group of tools? What’s your opinion?

 

 

Tell me what YOU think.

