Dear Marketers- If the Phone Doesn’t Ring, It’s Me

I’ve had good days and bad days
And going half mad days
I try to let go but you’re still on my mind
I’ve lost all the old ways
I’m searching for new plays
Putting it all on the line

Lots of new friends with the same old problems
Open your eyes, you might see
If our lives were that simple
We’d live in the past
If the phone doesn’t ring, it’s me

(“If the Phone Doesn’t Ring, It’s Me”- Jimmy Buffet, 1985)

Ah yes… great tune. It came out in my first year serving Uncle Sam in the USAF, and I happened to be right in Jimmy Buffet’s neighborhood on the Gulf Coast at the time. I felt a connection with the song then because I was a long way from home, away for the first time. There was no way I could afford to actually call the people I missed very often, back in the days of pricey toll calls and very little rank on my sleeves to fund those calls.

Now, a hundred years later, the same song plays in my mind every time I get one of these emails:
no-call

As I wrote about here in The Wirednot Memo to PR/Marketers, I believe everyone has value. And though I’d never want to be in marketing myself, I also don’t have a lot of tolerance for “my toe in the door come hell or high water” messaging.

If I don’t answer your email, don’t expect a warm reception on the uninvited follow-up call. I’m both busy, and not interested- and I will not give co-worker’s names. If your initial email struck me as something a coworker could benefit from, rest assured that I forwarded it on to them to evaluate.

Otherwise… I’m Incommunicado.

Cheers.

One thought on “Dear Marketers- If the Phone Doesn’t Ring, It’s Me

Tell me what YOU think.

